Sickness…

So the kids and I have been sick with the flu for the past few days. It’s been especially hard with kids that don’t know what it’s like to be sick. I can’t remember the last time they actually got sick before this. That’s one benefit to not going to pre-k or daycare-we hardly get sick. But when we DO, its awful. The days have been filled with Tylenol and benadryl, humidifiers, sore throat lollipops, and vick’s vaposteam. I’m not one for medicine but I really believe in the vaposteam for our humidifiers. It really help when the kids can’t stop coughing at night. Pour some in and they can sleep peacefully without coughing.

the kids are playing right now on the living room floor with blankets and stuffed animals.

Apparently the stuffed animals are sick too. Aiden is almost over his sickness, he has been playing hard since yesterday. I’ve never seen a kid play so much. Now they are huddled together reading stories to their stuffed animals. Yesterday was a rough day for Roro. She laid on the couch all day and would barely eat or drink. I did manage to get her to eat some pediasure Popsicles. We both slept on the couch and I’m glad to see her up and playing this morning.

I still feel pretty bad. I haven’t gotten hardly any housework done. I did manage to take out the trash yesterday though. đŸ™‚ Cody had bought me a new iPad, our 1st still works but wouldn’t support a lot of the kids games and was slow…the new one came yesterday. That was a little highlight in the day. I downloaded the kids reading eggs app and some other fun apps I found, then a few kids books since we will be stuck inside for awhile. Aiden had fun playing some of the games, especially MarcoPolo ocean, but Ro felt so bad she wasn’t able to enjoy it. I’m hoping to play the games and stories with them today. We also downloaded our abc mouse to the new iPad, and from what I saw, it works MUCH better on this iPad.

I really hope we’re all better by Thursday for Roro’s ballet. I had gotten candy packs and valentines for all the girls in her class for valentine’s day. We also got a thing of chocolates for the instructor and her sweet little assistant. Roro will be so excited to hand them out. Thankfully she doesn’t know I bought the classic candy. At least this way if we have to miss ballet she won’t be disappointed about that.

My best friend is 39 wks pregnant and has her dr apt today at 3. I’m pretty sure they’re going to induce her this afternoon. I won’t be able to see the baby for awhile since we’ve all been sick. Knowing she’s having another baby and seeing all the cute baby clothes when I picked out a gift, has made me want another baby. It brings back memories of Roro and Aiden as babies. It goes by way too fast. I can’t believe Ro will be 5 this year. She’s so much taller than other kids, even taller than my friend’s six yr old. I would love to have a baby again, but I went through so much trouble with the birth of my two kids. I’d love to adopt, but wouldn’t want to go through the process. I am probably just missing the past, that stage that you only have for a short time that you’ll never get back. The stage where they actually WANT to be held.

I requested another sprout kit on my Sproutkin.com account. I’m hoping we’ll finish the rest of the books in our current kit in a few days. I know we are going to keep at least 3 of the books in the current kit. How can I say no? I won’t be able to do that every time, but maybe this first time will be ok. I get 10% off the list price! which isn’t much! but anything helps. We read Cloudy with a chance of Meatballs last night, which wasn’t one of my favorites.

I saw last night that The magic School Bus is on netflix. Four seasons! I was planning on using those episodes and the books, and projects from theyoungscientistsclub.com for our science. I might get the kids to watch one episode today to see if they even like it. If it goes over well, I’m headed to books a Million this weekend to pick out the picture books I want for it. They’re having a buy 2 get 1 free sale right now that I can’t pass up. I did try to check out the lots on eBay, but most contained chapter books when I only want the picture books.

We’ll, I’m off to draw the kids some Pokemon to color.

Leave a Reply

